Categories of Loss of Sight

Loss of sight can be categorised in two ways: the first according to its extent and the second according to its severity:

Extent: Total Or Partial

Total Sight Loss

This is better known as blindness, where a person’s vision is completely obsolete.

Blindness usually results when a person’s brain or eyes cannot interpret different light waves as visual pictures.

Partial Sight Loss

Partial loss of sight consists of some loss of vision within a particular visual field with at least some ability to see still remaining.

For example, a person blinded in one eye could be considered as having suffered a partial loss of sight as they still have some vision.

Additionally, partial sight loss may involve faults in particular areas or of particular aspects of an injured person’s vision, causing blind spots, tunnel vision or blurred vision.

Severity: Permanent or Temporary

Permanent Sight Loss

Sight loss that does not subside is the result of permanent damage either to the retina or to the particular areas of the brain that play a part in visual perception.

Permanent loss of sight can result from varied causes, such as a brain tumour, a clot in the eye or a torn retina.

Temporary Sight Loss

Sight loss of a temporary nature may last for a very minor period of time or even a relatively long one but tends not to last for a period of months without returning.

It can be caused by migraines, bright flashes of light or even standing up too quickly when blood pressure is low.